Posted by: Harold Knight | 01/09/2010

Health care, my right to carry a gun, and the $600 pill.

Some of the certainties by which I try to organize my life:

  • The sole purpose of a government is to perpetuate itself.
  • The sole purpose of an international corporation is to rule the world (overriding the purpose of governments).
  • The sole purpose of an insurance company is to make money.
  • The sole purpose of a church (religious institution) is to perpetuate division between the chosen and the rejected (the “ins” and the “outs).
  • The sole purpose of a school is to teach 95% of the students they are failures.
  • Most (if not all) of the “structures” in which we live are nefarious (1604, from L. nefarius “wicked, abominable,” from nefas “crime, wrong, impiety,” from ne- “not” (see un-) + fas “right, lawful, divinely spoken,” related to fari “to speak”). (Online Etymology Dictionary) 

We live in a perpetual state of denial. We like to think our government is different, it exists to protect us, to allow us to flourish as natural beings, enjoying life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. We like to think the international corporations to which we are enslaved for our high standard of living (cheap clothes, cheap beef, a car in every garage, a lobster in every pot) look out for our physical well-being if not that of the entire world. We like to think insurance companies provide us a guarantee of care that will bring us good health. We like to think our religious institutions save our eternal souls. We like to think our schools educate us to the best of our abilities so we’ll have a fighting chance to be worthy and successful members of at least one nefarious institution. 

That is, the few people who think about anything think these things. 

Thinking in ways that fall outside the bounds of what we “like to think” is terrifying. Or it may be too much bother for people whose lives are OK because the nefarious institutions are working for them. Saying people would do well to think about these things is likely to land one in a category reserved for lunatics, idiots, and troublemakers. I’ll take that chance, not that I’m in any way special, original, or creative enough to say anything anyone should read—unless one wants to know how a mind thinks that functions only moderately well because of weird physical debilities such as (some kind of) epilepsy and (perhaps) the disease of the decade, Bipolar disorder. I admit to these details of my mental life readily—ad nauseum, in fact. 

So take all of this with not merely a grain of salt but the entire Morton’s box or the entire Adriatic Sea, or, more likely, stop reading right now if you haven’t already because these are the rantings of a certifiable madman (ask several members of the UTSouthwestern Medical School faculty). Besides, they’ve all been said before—ad nauseum.  There’s nothing new here.

The day before yesterday, as I was preparing for a visit to family many states away from UTSouthwestern, I attempted to act with forethought (an unusual activity for me) and make sure I had ample supply of all of the medications that keep me functioning on an even enough keel to get by (I, by the way, am not a madman, and most people, most of the time, would never know guess I’m dependent on these medications). 

My employer has changed the “compan[y that is] providing us a guarantee of care that will bring us good health.” I assumed there would be some “hitch in the get-along” and called my pharmacy to make sure they could change the billing to the new company guaranteeing my care, and I wouldn’t have to have new prescriptions. They assured me that was correct. I ordered the five prescriptions filled. My pharmacy friend assured me the order had “gone through.” 

Two hours later she called to say there was a problem. Oh yes, they could fill the prescriptions. But she thought I should know that the co-pay for the med that does the most to keep my keel even had gone from $40 per refill to $600 per refill. OK. So I have $600 sitting around waiting to deposit in the coffers of one of the largest corporations in America—they are in desperate need of my money. The co-pay on my new plan is 50%. That means the 120 tablets (each one a bit larger than an aspirin) cost $10 apiece. Pardon my French, but what the hell can be in that tiny thing that makes it worth $10? It’s invaluable if it keeps me on a daily basis making the rational decision not to kill myself, but how the hell can it cost $10? 

  • The sole purpose of a government is to perpetuate itself.
  • The sole purpose of an international corporation is to rule the world (overriding the purpose of governments).
  • The sole purpose of an insurance company is to make money. 

In a nutshell, that’s how. 

When the current keepers of the flame of governmental self-perpetuation decided to give a tiny slice of the pie to a few more people (give more people the advantage of having their health cared for so they can live productive lives), they had to get the permission of those who are making money on that care. So the chief perpetuator of the government—Obama is his name—made an agreement (I heard someone describe this agreement a few weeks ago on Bill Moyers’ Journal, and I assume the two people in the country who want to know about it can find it in Bill’s archives) with the protectors of the money-makers in the insurance industry to keep their profits high in order for them to continue to have more victims of their care. 

The changes in the profit-sharing arrangements among the government, the international corporations (the drug companies) and my new insurance company are pending. However, I’ll bet any month’s worth of $600 co-pay that my situation will not change even if we do have “health care reform.” My $600 per month is what’s keeping the international corporation that makes the $10 pill afloat, and it’s providing the cut of the income necessary to keep the insurance company afloat, and it’s providing the money and power to keep the perpetuators of the government in their position of authority. 

It’s simple. 

I don’t really care. My neurologist decided the “generic” version of the drug would be acceptable (even though the perpetuators of the government have decided it’s OK if that version of the pill has anywhere from 25% less to 25% more of the chemicals that cost so much, so its effect on keeping my thoughts about self-destruction irrational may not be sufficient). So I came to California with medication that may or may not work the way it should. But it cost me only $60 instead of $600. Everyone is happy. There’s little chance I will decide it’s rational to kill myself today. But what might happen if I were in one of those times that it seemed rational? 

That would not matter to Mr. Obama (as representative of the entire massive self-perpetuating government), the international corporation that makes the $10 pills, or the insurance company that “guarantees” my health care. They need my $600. 

All the institutions under which I live  are nefarious. Deal with it. 

Funny.  My guarantee of the right to carry a gun is matched by my right to think irrationally enough to use it. To have the right to think rationally enough not to use it, I have to pay $600 per month.

Categories

